RSS Feed

My Tribute to Yash Chopra

I woke up this morning to the news of Yash Chopra’s death.  I still cannot believe the King of Romance is dead.  The man who is responsible for me falling in love with Hindi cinema is no more. I am eternally indebted to him. Rest in peace Yash Ji. I promise I will cherish this gift you have given me jab tak hai jaan, jab tak hai jaan…

The film that made me fall in love with Bollywood was Dil To Pagal Hai.  I watched it at a friend’s house when I was about 9 years old.  By then it had come on DVD and I became obsessed with the film.  I remember trading my friend my Sailor Moon movie for the Dil To Pagal Hai DVD.  Till date you can put that movie on and I will drop everything and start watching.  I think I must have seen it at least 30 times from start to finish.  Everything about that movie enticed me: the music, the idea that there is someone made for you and all you have to do is find them, the dance, etc.  After that I watched every Shah Rukh Khan movie that came before and after Dil To Pagal Hai.

Yash Ji made so many great films but besides fulfilling the role of director with panache, his production company has produced many excellent films.

Besides films, Yash Ji introduced so many talented actors and directors to bollywood.  When I told my mom about his death she aptly said “He made so many people’s lives by giving them films.”  Many people owe much to Yash Ji and he will be sorely missed.

The man was an institution in himself.  When one talks of chiffon sarees or Switzerland and romantic songs, Yash Ji’s name is the first thing that comes to mind.

I think the thing that saddens me most is he won’t be alive to see his last film release.  I really hope that Jab Tak Hai Jaan breaks all box office records because no other farewell would be proper for the man that gave us Hindi-film lovers so much joy.  It is so fitting that Jab Tak Hai Jaan is releasing on Remembrance Day long weekend here in Canada because on Tuesday, November 13th I will be remembering Yash Ji by watching the 1st day, 1st show of Jab Tak Hai Jaan.

Below is the link to Yash Ji’s last interview which he gave on the occasion of his 80th birthday just a few weeks ago.  I recommend you watch it because I learnt so much from it not just in relation to films but about life and how one should lead it.

Yash Ji will be missed.  My condolences to his family and those close to him.  All I can say is feel comfort in the fact that he was so well loved because that is a sign that he lived his life well.

bollywoodaddict

Leave a Reply

